Views of Hamilton County
Blue Rounded Corner

Before a marriage can occur in Tennessee, a license must be obtained from a county clerk. Ministers of the gospel, rabbis, Christian Science practitioners, and various civil officials are authorized by law to solemnize a marriage. 

bullet Information about law requiring Premarital Preparation Course  
Marriage license requirements are specific to each applicant's age. Please be familiar with information that pertains to both parties.
bullet  18 Years Of Age or Older
bullet  17 Years Of Age
bullet  Fact Sheet: Marriage and Emancipation
bullet  Under 17 Years of Age - no marriage license can be issued. No exceptions. TCA 36-3-105.
A certified copy of a marriage certificate can be obtained online, through the mail, in person or by calling (423) 209-6500 and paying with a debit or credit card. All requests will be mailed the same day. The fee is $5.00 plus $1.19 postage. Office hours are Monday-Friday 8 AM to 4:30 PM. When calling the clerk’s office please supply the following:
bullet  Names of couple (including maiden name if applicable)
bullet  Date of marriage
You may make your request through the mail by completing a Marriage Records Request Form (PDF Format).

The address is:

Hamilton County Clerk
c/o Marriage License Records
625 Georgia Avenue, Room 201
Chattanooga, Tn 37402

Marriage License Pre-Application Online
Order a Certified Copy of a Marriage Certificate
Marriage Search & Reports
Still have questions? Feel free to call the clerk’s office at (423) 209-6500.
The staff will be glad to help you.
page bottom